Author: Joe

Casper Ruud vs Carlos Alcaraz — The World’s Best Player

Casper Ruud vs Carlos Alcaraz — The World's Best Player

Carlos Alcaraz defeats Casper Ruud to win the US Open final

The US Open final was played today between one of the most exciting players of the modern era – Carlos Alcaraz – and one of the legends – Casper Ruud.

Both made an excellent effort, each battling for everything they could. Alcaraz could only have a single break to beat the tournament record of four set against the same player. For the first time in the history of the US Open both players lost a set.

In the end Alcaraz took the first set easily. He then won the second and third, winning the match 2- 6 4-6 6-3 6-2.

Casper Ruud suffered a similar fate, playing the match with all his concentration. He was a good player but unfortunately he played without his usual confidence and aggressiveness.

Despite the loss of three sets in succession, Alcaraz is the new world number one. Ruud is the record holder for the most consecutive Masters 1000 singles titles. Their last meeting in a major was in 1997. At the time it was Ruud’s first tour appearance since his retirement after winning the Wimbledon title in 1993.

With this victory Carlos Alcaraz improves his world ranking to a new career high of 31, making him the new number one professional male. His new world ranking means that he has now reached his best ever ranking for the year.

Casper Ruud was born in Hamburg in 1938 and joined Hamburg in 1956, at the age of 13. He won the Wimbledon title in 1963, and two years later won the U.S. Open doubles title. He was the defending champion of the singles title until Alcaraz beat him in the final.

In 1967 he joined forces with Jimmy Connors and won again the U.S. Open. In the 1970s the team achieved some extraordinary achievements. They won 10 consecutive Grand Slam titles.

The team achieved further success together at the 1975 French Open, winning their first Grand Slam title by defeating Arthur Ashe and Mike DeJohnes in a five set match 7-6, 6-3, 7-5, 7-5 in the final. The team won the remaining Grand Slam titles in 1976, 1980 and 1981.

During the 1980s and 1990s, they won a further 20 Grand Slam titles between them.

While he was still world number one, Jimmy Connors was suspended from the

Leave a Comment